SNP MSP celebrates 60 years of the Samaritans

SNP MSP for the South of Scotland Dr Aileen McLeod this week hosted a reception at the Scottish Parliament to celebrate 60 years of the Samaritans, which was attended by over 300 representatives of Samaritans groups across Scotland, including Dumfries Samaritans.
Dr McLeod commented:
“I was delighted to host Tuesday night’s reception in honour of the Samaritans’ 60th anniversary year and that it was attended by so many people from across Scotland including members of Dumfries Samaritans.
“The service that Samaritans provide round the clock, every single day of the year is invaluable and has helped countless people in need across Britain since they started taking calls in 1953. The dedication and kindness of the volunteers richly deserves the recognition they received in Parliament and I hope that they will continue to listen, comfort and help for many years to come.”
Notes to editors:
A photo of Aileen with members of the Samaritans is attached.
The text of Dr McLeod’s motion celebrating 60 years of the Samaritans is below:
Motion S4M-08156: Aileen McLeod, South Scotland, Scottish National Party, Date Lodged: 04/11/2013
Samaritans’ 60th Anniversary Year
That the Parliament congratulates Samaritans in its 60th anniversary year; recognises the efforts of those 127,000 volunteers who have answered over 115 million calls for help since 1953, and acknowledges what it considers their dedication in establishing Samaritans’ prominent and essential role in civic society in Scotland, the UK and the Republic of Ireland.
Supported by: Hanzala Malik, David Stewart, Liam McArthur, Iain Gray, Kenneth Gibson, Jamie McGrigor, Tavish Scott, Jean Urquhart, Jackson Carlaw, Colin Keir, Mary Scanlon, Jackie Baillie, Margaret Mitchell, Chic Brodie, Adam Ingram, Richard Lyle, Kevin Stewart, Clare Adamson, Annabelle Ewing, Christina McKelvie, Neil Findlay, Rob Gibson, Mike MacKenzie, Anne McTaggart, Roderick Campbell, Stuart McMillan, Nanette Milne, Graeme Dey, David Torrance, Gil Paterson, Ken Macintosh, John Mason, Bill Kidd, Sarah Boyack, Mark McDonald, Alison McInnes, Stewart Maxwell, Jamie Hepburn, Colin Beattie, Alison Johnstone, Maureen Watt, Richard Simpson, Christine Grahame, Sandra White, Duncan McNeil

doc icon 13.11.22-SNP-MSP-celebrates-60-years-of-the-Samaritans.doc