Holyrood Committee Rooms named after South of Scotland figures

holyrood committee rooms names after south of scotland figuresSNP MSP for the South of Scotland, Michael Russell welcomed the announcement that Robert Burns and James Clerk Maxwell are amongst the famous Scots in whose honour the Committee Rooms in the Scottish Parliament have been named.

Mr Russell said:

“I am pleased that two of the Committee Rooms have been named after famous Scots who have real and enduring links with Dumfries & Galloway, and who also happened to be two of my own suggestions!

“I think it would have been difficult to imagine Rabbie Burns being left off the list, since he is such a major figure in Scottish culture. I am particularly pleased however to see James Clerk-Maxwell included.

“I believe that Clerk-Maxwell’s contribution to science remains greatly undervalued outside of the scientific community. The man whose work Einstein acknowledged as laying the foundations for his own, deserves wider recognition.”

The Committee Rooms have been named as follows:

CR1 – Robert Burns, CR2 – Mary Fairfax Somerville, CR3 – Sir Alexander Fleming, CR4 – James Clerk Maxwell, CR5 – Adam Smith, CR6 – David Livingstone