SNP secure South Scotland List Seat after winning East Lothian and Ayr Constituencies

After SNP Constituency gains from the Tories in Ayr and Labour in East Lothian, the SNP also won 1 list seat for the South Scotland region.

This means the party has achieved 6 Constituency seats and 1 List seat for the new Scottish Parliament. Previously the SNP had 4 Constituency seats and 3 List seats for the region. But while celebrating the map turning yellow for Siobhian Brown (Ayr) and Paul McLennan (East Lothian) the South will certainly miss former List MSPs Joan McAlpine and Paul Wheelhouse who didn’t get returned.

Emma Harper, SNP MSP for South Scotland Region said;

“It’s been an honour and a privilege to be returned to the South Scotland Region as the only SNP MSP to cover the whole of Dumfries & Galloway and the Scottish Borders. I look forward to continuing to work with the people of Dumfries & Galloway and the Scottish Borders, representing their voice in the Scottish Parliament and assisting with their needs locally.

“I have already hit the ground running and I and my staff are always available and I encourage anyone to contact me at any time if I can be of any assistance.”